5 Love Languages List | Body Flows Article

The 5 Languages Of Love Discover Your Love Language

I recently learned about The 5 Languages of Love by Gary Chapman and feel inspired to share them with you because friends and I had a very interesting discussion/debate about which love language most resonated with us and why.

Gary's 5 Love Languages are:

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Acts of Service
  3. Receiving Gifts
  4. Quality Time
  5. Physical Touch

In his book, Gary describes:

"Each person has one primary and one secondary love language. To discover a love language, one must observe the way he expresses love to others, analyze what he complains about most often, and what he requests from his significant other most often."

Based on his theory, which love language do you resonate with the most?

Do you resonate with a different language of love for giving and receiving love?

A friend of mine posted this question on Facebook yesterday and it went viral? Well, not quite viral, but it was one of his most popular posts, with hundreds of comments and shares.

Why do you think it was so popular?

My theory is because we are all ultimately seeking more love in our lives.

We are all seeking the ability to give more love and to receive more love.

Throughout our lives, we take many actions that help us to receive and give love, such as seeking a partner, spending time with family and friends, having children, working in a profession that allows us to care for others, and volunteering for those in need.

If we are not receiving or giving love at any time in our life, we can begin to feel alone, sad, anxious and even depressed.

I believe that love is the deepest form of connection we can ever exprience. When we experience love, we are in a place of happiness and peace. Love can even provide us with a sense of oneness and connection with a higher consciousness or the universe.

Although I practice and enjoy all the languages of love when giving and receiving love, I began to feel that there was something missing, and that they were not addressing the true meaning of love as I understand and feel it in my heart.

I began to consider what is important to me in defining love, ways that I feel more loved and that I am able to give more love.

To this effect, I came up with my own 5 languages of love:

  1. Kindness
  2. Trust
  3. Honesty
  4. Respect
  5. Non-Judgment

Which of my 5 languages of love do you resonate with the most?

Do you resonate with Gary Chapman's languages of love (words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time, physical touch) or with my languages of love (trust, honesty, kindness, respect, non-judgment), or a combination of both?

Of course, we all enjoy a surprise gift, hearing the words "I love you" or "you are beautiful", spending quality time with a loved one in nature or playing and having fun, supporting and helping each other and physical affection and touch.

However, I believe we can feel a deeper sense of love through an intention and a way of being instead of merely through an action.

Actions can be performed with different intentions so the above actions could be performed without an intention of love, and therefore I would not feel loved, nor would I be giving love, if my intention was not pure love.

I believe it's the intention that is powerful and contains the love, not the action.

Love is a deep state of being, feeling, and connecting. Love is energetic and filled with energy that connects us deeply from our hearts and our souls and feels so universal and expansive that often no action nor words are even required.

Love is our natural state of being and we should all strive to tune into our true deep inner love that already exists inside, and demonstrate it to others through loving intentions that are filled with energy that is felt by both parties. This love cannot be found nor felt through a physical action or a word of affirmation.

What are your thoughts and feelings around Love? I'd love to hear your thoughts so please feel free to leave a comment in the comment section below

Please also share this article with your friends and followers if you found it helpful, by clicking the buttons below.

Namaste and much love,